Squire - The Official Squire Fan Club Album - Vinyl LP WHITE
Squire - The Official Squire Fan Club Album - Vinyl LP WHITE
Squire - The Official Squire Fan Club Album - Vinyl LP WHITE
Hilo Records

Squire - The Official Squire Fan Club Album - Vinyl LP WHITE

Regular price £19.99 £0.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Limited edition hand printed, signed and numbered replica of the original 13 track Official Squire Fan Club Album, in white vinyl! Comes with a copy of the original insert sheet. 

The Fan Club Album was issued on November 1982. Housed in a plain white sleeve with just rubber stamps printing on front, it featured different studio / demo versions of Squire songs, coupled with a live recorded B-side that captured the sound and excitement of an 'on stage' performance. It was thought this way to offer the fans who lived far—and had no chances to see the band onstage—a close idea of what was a sweaty, smokey, rough live gig. Squire had a registered fan club membership of over 1500 members by those days, and this LP was originally only available through the fan club.
The Fan Club album was a chance to share with fans songs that would have remained overlooked were if not for them, and for that I'm eternally grateful!" - Anthony Meynell


A1 I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend
A2 Teenage Girl
A3 We Are The Numbers
A4 Get Ready To Go
A5 Face Of Youth Today
A6 I Know A Girl

B1 My Mind Goes Round In Circles
B2 Stop That Girl!
B3 You're The One
B4 The Young Idea
B5 Has Our Love Gone Bad?
B6 Don't Cry To Me
B7 It's A Mod Mod World


An incredibly hard to find relic of the mod revival years, Something Old Something New Something Borrowed... is a 13-track roundup of rarities that peaks, on side two, with a fiery live sequence that reminds listeners just how ill-suited many of these bands were to the studio environment -- and just how readily Squire bucked that trend. Their natural habitat remained the sweat- and beer-soaked atmosphere of a tiny club packed with parkas and Union Jacks, and the seven live songs here are delivered with a frenzy that can readily be compared to a maniacal cross between vintage Jam and classic Kinks. But the studio held no fears and, if you can image the first Beatles album slammed through the sound of classic Flamin' Groovies, with all the wide-eyed enthusiasm and tunefulness that that implies, you'll be close to capturing the sheer joy of Squire. Alternate versions of band favorites "I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend" (no relation to the Ramones number), "Teenage Girl," "Get Ready to Go," and "The Face of Youth Today" all highlight side one, while the concert sequence hits so many peaks that it's difficult to play favorites -- 19 minutes of nonstop mod mayhem! .... Crank up the volume and beat on the bass, and all of Squire's greatest qualities still come bleeding through. And you'll be "Walking Down the King's Road" in no time! Dave Thompson All Music Guide

More from this collection